Which assembler with Vampire?

Post Reply
Niding
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun 20 Nov 2016 14:19

Which assembler with Vampire?

Post by Niding » Wed 23 Nov 2016 11:51

Hey!

I havent coded anything for decades, but figure Id try to make my old sources work as a start now that my V600+usb keyboard makes the desktop enviroment very userfriendly.

Out of curiousity, which assembler is the best to be used with Vampire?
I just tried to install Asm-One v1.48 downloaded from Aminet, but it hangs the system. The LimpidClock is still running, but everything else is frozen.

I downloaded DevPack 3.18 from EAB server, and it works fine.

Just curious to hear what setups you coding wizards use.

User avatar
flype
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 13:58

Re: Which assembler with Vampire?

Post by flype » Wed 23 Nov 2016 13:17

I personally use Devpac 3.18 which fits well my needs (and exigences). CPUMon is coded using it for example.

For your ASM One issue, mine works well. Maybe i have a more recent version than yours or maybe/probably it just opens in the PAL screen (?)

Do you have PAL monitor connected to the native Amiga RGB and then check with ASM One ? The LimpidClock still running indicates this at least.

We also use VASM which is the more up-to-date ASM compiler, and is also compatible with Devpac.
Last edited by flype on Wed 23 Nov 2016 13:27, edited 1 time in total.
Amiga 600 + 2MB ChipRAM + V600 V2-128 + PCMCIA LinkSys Wifi card.
Amiga 1200 + Blizzard 030 IV + 256MB FastRAM 50ns.
-
68k rulez!

Niding
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun 20 Nov 2016 14:19

Re: Which assembler with Vampire?

Post by Niding » Wed 23 Nov 2016 13:25

You are probarbly correct with regards to ASM One screen switch. I have enough screens in my homeoffice, so Im only using programs that will go thru the HDMI.
Makes sense when you mentioned it. I tried 900x600, and then it crashed. When I had PAL screens it probably went nonRTG, which is why I couldnt see it.
Pretty obvious when I think of if :oops:

User avatar
flype
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 13:58

Re: Which assembler with Vampire?

Post by flype » Wed 23 Nov 2016 13:31

But nevermind, ASM-One or Pro can open in RTG screens. There is a ScreenMode selector.

Devpac 3.50 was French only but 3.18 is international that's why i also use this one (aheem, well i'm french but i like keeping english language when speaking about coding).


And yes i also use 99% of my Vampire in RTG mode. But with MUI PSI tool it is possible to extend capacities of the system to push some apps on the other public screen (PAL or DblPAL for example). Is that useful ? i don't know, at least that's funny :)
Amiga 600 + 2MB ChipRAM + V600 V2-128 + PCMCIA LinkSys Wifi card.
Amiga 1200 + Blizzard 030 IV + 256MB FastRAM 50ns.
-
68k rulez!

User avatar
bax
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 13:46

Re: Which assembler with Vampire?

Post by bax » Thu 24 Nov 2016 10:24

I'd suggest to have a look at VASM. I personally use ASM-Pro on a regular basis for quick'n'dirty tests but that one is limited to standard 68k instructions.

Apollo-specific code can be generated with the next VASM. Phx made the necessary additons to VASM in order to support new Apollo instructions and AMMX. VASM-Apollo is currently in Beta but will be released at the latest when Gold2 goes public.

Edit:
VASM with AMMX extension support went public: http://sun.hasenbraten.de/vasm/index.php?view=source
A500 Rev8a1, V500 V2, ECS, 1.5 MB Chip, 32 GB CF
A500 Rev5, 1 MB Chip, 2 MB Fast, A590 + SCSI2SD
A4000, CS060MK-I 50 MHz, 112 MB Fast, AriadneII, Scandoubler, MelodyZ2, CV64
A500 Rev8b, Project Red a1k edition

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest