GOLD2.5 Experimental Build

TrashyMG
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri 20 Jan 2017 00:52

Re: GOLD2.5 Experimental Build

Post by TrashyMG » Sat 17 Jun 2017 23:00

SpacemonkeyUK wrote:
Fri 16 Jun 2017 22:15
TrashyMG wrote:
Wed 14 Jun 2017 19:02
I think so, if you mean the IDEFIX, which is just Gold 2 with the IDE stuff.
No it enable vampiretool Fastide to test faster IDE transfers
AFIK the "vampiretool fastide" setting on a V600 doesn't do anything. it only works on the V500. the passed around IDEFIX core is for the V600 only And the approach for enabling and setting up the appropriate values was a bit more manual.

SpacemonkeyUK
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon 5 Dec 2016 11:21

Re: GOLD2.5 Experimental Build

Post by SpacemonkeyUK » Sat 17 Jun 2017 23:28

sorry but the Gold 3 b1 i have double the speed of the IDE in Sysinfo when i run vampiretool fastide

TrashyMG
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri 20 Jan 2017 00:52

Re: GOLD2.5 Experimental Build

Post by TrashyMG » Sun 18 Jun 2017 00:19

Alright, I was talking about the idefix.jic core that was passed around for the V600, I wasn't aware of a Gold3 beta being passed Around.

I guess you're in the inner circle.

SpacemonkeyUK
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon 5 Dec 2016 11:21

Re: GOLD2.5 Experimental Build

Post by SpacemonkeyUK » Sun 18 Jun 2017 00:31

no just asked on IRC to test IDE

SpacemonkeyUK
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon 5 Dec 2016 11:21

Re: GOLD2.5 Experimental Build

Post by SpacemonkeyUK » Sun 18 Jun 2017 13:15

After updating to Gold 2.5 i now get some screen corpution on the boot screen towards the end of booting. This was not present on Gold 2 or 3b1

Image

Uigiflip
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 18:07

Re: GOLD2.5 Experimental Build

Post by Uigiflip » Sun 18 Jun 2017 19:18

I get the same

TrashyMG
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri 20 Jan 2017 00:52

Re: GOLD2.5 Experimental Build

Post by TrashyMG » Mon 19 Jun 2017 13:59

Yeah I get that too, although just a single strip down on the bottom.

TrashyMG
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri 20 Jan 2017 00:52

Re: GOLD2.5 Experimental Build

Post by TrashyMG » Mon 19 Jun 2017 14:00

Yeah I get that too, although just a single strip down on the bottom. It doesn't seem to cause any issues on the WB or in any games from what I can tell.

User avatar
flype
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 13:58

Re: GOLD2.5 Experimental Build

Post by flype » Wed 21 Jun 2017 21:27

hmm, interesting guys, thanks for the report.

i can understand why : something new is allocating memory at end of fastram (using AllocMem MEMF_REVERSE flag) on boot process that was not before. No big issue, it is a 'legal' symptom. The BootPic allocates memory at end of fastram to make it displayable, but it is released as fast as possible. So any program that allocates memory reverse, after the BootPic is executed, will override the picture. Will look at this deeper when i can.

One question : does it happens when no CF is connected or without startup-sequence ?
Amiga 600 + 2MB ChipRAM + V600 V2-128 + PCMCIA LinkSys Wifi card.
Amiga 1200 + Blizzard 030 IV + 256MB FastRAM 50ns.
-
68k rulez!

User avatar
bax
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 13:46

Re: GOLD2.5 Experimental Build

Post by bax » Wed 21 Jun 2017 21:33

This symptom is a little bit annoying and can be fixed. But it's also harmless. The boot picture does free the allocated memory after showing the picture. Thus, when another program in the startup-sequence allocates FastMem from the top of the list, it will get some that falls into the boot picture framebuffer range. This causes the curruptions. Rest assured, the video out is read-only.
A500 Rev8a1, V500 V2, ECS, 1.5 MB Chip, 32 GB CF
A500 Rev5, 1 MB Chip, 2 MB Fast, A590 + SCSI2SD
A4000, CS060MK-I 50 MHz, 112 MB Fast, AriadneII, Scandoubler, MelodyZ2, CV64
A500 Rev8b, Project Red a1k edition

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest