Apollo Accelerators

Apollo Accelerators Discussion Forum
» » »
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 2  [ 14 posts ] Go to page 1 2 »
Author Message
tassadar
Post subject: Vampire v2 600 - installation problems [SOLVED] Posted: Sun 23 Jul 2017 09:32
Offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 13 Jun 2017 03:46
Hi everyone

Can someone please help? I am trying to get the Vampire board to boot, but not having any luck. I get weird graphic glitches on my screen. The board boots without the Vampire in place, so no problems there.

Note that I've tried the Vampire with the mounts in place, and I've cleaned all the pins as well.

Posted a video here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6h1WJSf3e0

Would appreciate any ideas, or if I have to return the product, I am not clear on to whom I would send this, or what support is in place.


Last edited by tassadar on Sat 12 Aug 2017 00:08, edited 1 time in total.

Top
[Profile] [Quote]
SpacemonkeyUK
Post subject: Re: Vampire v2 600 - installation problems Posted: Sun 23 Jul 2017 14:51
Offline
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon 5 Dec 2016 11:21
You should get a red light at boot up as well, which would suggest a poor connection

You can also take the ROM out


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Uigiflip
Post subject: Re: Vampire v2 600 - installation problems Posted: Sun 23 Jul 2017 18:07
Offline
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 18:07
U haven't pressed hard enough on install to CPU chip, good connection get green then red


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
tassadar
Post subject: Re: Vampire v2 600 - installation problems Posted: Mon 24 Jul 2017 14:36
Offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 13 Jun 2017 03:46
I have tried what was suggested. Still no luck:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m_hS7mqJP2Q

- checked the state of the pins on the CPU and vampire - all good
- ensured the Vampire was flush and firmly connected to the mainboard - couldn't get it any closer
- removed kickstart ROM

Any other ideas?


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
gregthecanuck
Post subject: Re: Vampire v2 600 - installation problems Posted: Tue 25 Jul 2017 10:53
Offline
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon 28 Nov 2016 05:33
Thorough cleaning of the pins on the CPU?


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
tassadar
Post subject: Re: Vampire v2 600 - installation problems Posted: Tue 25 Jul 2017 12:18
Offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 13 Jun 2017 03:46
Thanks for the suggestion, Greg. Yes, I've already cleaned the CPU pins.


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
gregthecanuck
Post subject: Re: Vampire v2 600 - installation problems Posted: Tue 25 Jul 2017 13:26
Offline
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon 28 Nov 2016 05:33
I recall in the past one or more users with stubbornly tarnished pins. That is why I suggested thoroughly... :)

Power supply - borderline? Other than that I am stumped but no expert.


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
tassadar
Post subject: Re: Vampire v2 600 - installation problems Posted: Tue 25 Jul 2017 13:57
Offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 13 Jun 2017 03:46
Power supply is a brand new Ray Carlson one. I think it's pretty good. Seems to work okay with my Amiga 1200 which also has an accelerator installed. http://personalpages.tds.net/~rcarlsen/custom%20ps.html

Is there any official support in here? (other than friendly board members!)


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
TrashyMG
Post subject: Re: Vampire v2 600 - installation problems Posted: Tue 25 Jul 2017 14:50
Offline
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri 20 Jan 2017 00:52
I'd like to think that PSU being 5.5A on the 5V rail should be enough. The only thing I could think of is Contact with the socket like many suggested or perhaps some electrolytic cap issue that may not have been apparent when you were drawing less current without the Vampire.
Is there any official support in here? (other than friendly board members!)
Well this forum seems to be overlooked by many. Kipper is out of the game for the most part now, so outside of directly getting contact with him there most likely isn't any official support on this forum. I suggest maybe hitting up IRC #apollo-team on Freenode there are a bunch of us with V600 and a few official team members.


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
majsta
Post subject: Re: Vampire v2 600 - installation problems Posted: Fri 28 Jul 2017 15:27
Offline
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun 22 Jan 2017 10:49
Hi, I can't help like this, can you please join us on IRC so I can try to see what is wrong using TeamViewer.


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Display: Sort by: Direction:
[Post Reply]  Page 1 of 2  [ 14 posts ] Return to “Vampire 600 V2” | Go to page 1 2 »

Jump to: 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


» The team | Delete all board cookies | All times are UTC+02:00

cron