Apollo Accelerators

Apollo Accelerators Discussion Forum
» » »
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ]
Author Message
parax
Post subject: Vampire 600 V2 stopped working? Posted: Sat 2 Sep 2017 19:48
Offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 7 Jun 2017 21:14
Hi guys,

I have a Vampire 600 V2 running GOLD2, which I use it on my recapped and Kickstart 3.1 upgraded Amiga 600, installed with the mount screws that ensures it remains plugged in properly. It has been working fine, but today after I tried to launch an WHDLOAD game, it became kind of frozen. After a cold restart, the only thing I get on the SCART connection is a pain red screen which sometimes flicks to black, first for 2-3 seconds then just some microseconds). No Vampire logo, no output on HDMI, nothing. I immediately thought that it might be a connectivity problem with the microprocessor, so I turned it off and pushed firmly the card, but the issue remains. I then took the time to unmount the Vampire entirely to check that the Amiga 600 works just fine on its absence, which it does. The components at the Vampire board look ok to the eye. I cleaned the area a bit with compressed air, and replugged it several times, but every attempt resulted in the same behaviour.

Do I have a broken Vampire? Is there anything I can do on my own?


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
parax
Post subject: Re: Vampire 600 V2 stopped working? Posted: Mon 4 Sep 2017 23:08
Offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 7 Jun 2017 21:14
No recommendations / suggestions? Is there anything I can do aside sending the card to kipper2k? Thanks.


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
rshimada
Post subject: Re: Vampire 600 V2 stopped working? Posted: Tue 5 Sep 2017 03:34
Offline
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 23:35
kipper2k is no longer in the Vampire business.

You should try to contact the team directly via IRC http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=apollo-team


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
parax
Post subject: Re: Vampire 600 V2 stopped working? Posted: Tue 5 Sep 2017 08:39
Offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 7 Jun 2017 21:14
rshimada wrote: *  Tue 5 Sep 2017 03:34
kipper2k is no longer in the Vampire business.

You should try to contact the team directly via IRC http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=apollo-team
Oh dear... Does that mean that, if it's finally a hardware problem, I won't have any support? Or did the Apollo team take the responsibility of helping with possible issues with these cards? Where can I read more about it (if it was even announced)?


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
felixthecat
Post subject: Re: Vampire 600 V2 stopped working? Posted: Tue 5 Sep 2017 10:38
Offline
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri 11 Aug 2017 00:45
@parax

http://www.kipper2k.com

http://apollo-core.com/knowledge.php?b= ... order=&x=0


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
rshimada
Post subject: Re: Vampire 600 V2 stopped working? Posted: Tue 5 Sep 2017 15:09
Offline
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 23:35
parax wrote: *  Tue 5 Sep 2017 08:39
Oh dear... Does that mean that, if it's finally a hardware problem, I won't have any support? Or did the Apollo team take the responsibility of helping with possible issues with these cards?
Last I read, I think Majsta was handling V600 problems.

If you don't want to use IRC you can try http://www.apollo-accelerators.com/#contact
Quote:
Where can I read more about it (if it was even announced)?
As already mentioned, kipper2k's web site is probably the most official version.

Somewhere kipper2k mentioned that half of the last batch of V600s were bad the board house was ignoring him.


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
parax
Post subject: Re: Vampire 600 V2 stopped working? Posted: Thu 7 Sep 2017 10:32
Offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 7 Jun 2017 21:14
Thank you both. I'm already in contact with the Apollo team via IRC. Let's see if we can recover this Vampire to life.

Mine was purchased on March this year, but I received it on mid June. Hopefully it can be solved easily.


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Display: Sort by: Direction:
[Post Reply]  Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] Return to “Vampire 600 V2”

Jump to: 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


» The team | Delete all board cookies | All times are UTC+01:00

cron