Apollo Accelerators

Apollo Accelerators Discussion Forum

Video cuts out when booting Coffin R52

Post Reply   Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ]
Author Message
8bit-Dude
Post subject: Video cuts out when booting Coffin R52
Posted: Wed 25 Jul 2018 15:38
Offline
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 25 Jul 2018 15:32
 
Hey there! I would like to request a bit of support for my Vampire 600 V2.

I was able to flash Gold 2.10 with a USB Blaster, and install Coffin R52 on a CF card (R53 download was corrupt).
Booting from a workbench floppy, I can see the partitions on the CF card and run SYSINFO to confirm that the Vampire is running fine.

But trying to boot from the CF card, I hear some kind of boot music and then the video signal cuts out.
My monitor says: "No input" for all signals: RGB, composite, and DigitalOut.

I have attached a photo of my setup, I would greatly appreciate any piece of advice!

Attachments
[ attachment ]
Amiga MB
2018-07-25 22.25.23.jpg (3.29 MiB) Viewed 246 times


Top
Profile Quote
leof
Post subject: Re: Video cuts out when booting Coffin R52
Posted: Wed 25 Jul 2018 17:29
Offline
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri 15 Jun 2018 13:59
 
Coffin defaults to DigitalOut output. Did you connect the DigitalOut-output of the Vampire to a TV or monitor?
When I use H_D_M_I as one word this forum replaces it with DigitalOut?


Top
Profile Quote
8bit-Dude
Post subject: Re: Video cuts out when booting Coffin R52
Posted: Thu 26 Jul 2018 01:05
Offline
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 25 Jul 2018 15:32
 
Thanks for the reply!

I am using a TV with H.D.M.I; actually, I tested with 2 TVs in my house.
Both display the Gold 2.10 splashscreen (vamp girl), but then report "no signal" after boot.

Do you think I need to get hold of a monitor?


Top
Profile Quote
leof
Post subject: Re: Video cuts out when booting Coffin R52
Posted: Thu 26 Jul 2018 14:27
Offline
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri 15 Jun 2018 13:59
 
I think if it displays the spashscreen, it should also display the Workbench screen in the same screenmode (640x480).
To try that you could boot without startup-sequence (keep both mouse buttons pressed, while turning it on) connected to an old scool Amiga monitor. Then remove or rename the screenmode prefs from System:Prefs/ENV-Archive/System/, reboot and set the screenmode to 640x480, 24 bit, save settings and try again through H.D.M.I.


Top
Profile Quote
8bit-Dude
Post subject: Re: Video cuts out when booting Coffin R52
Posted: Thu 26 Jul 2018 15:56
Offline
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 25 Jul 2018 15:32
 
Renaming to screenmode.prefs.old got me booted in PAL mode.
I then tried setting to 640x480 24 bit, but it says that it cannot write to "screenmode.prefs".

I tried renaming to screenmode.prefs before changing res, but still the same error message shows up.
When rebooting the amiga, I cannot see anything on DigitalOut and need to rename again to screenmode.prefs.old to get back into PAL.

Been trying various combinations, but I can't get a signal out of DigitalOut.
(Using "Test", I also cannot see anything out through DigitalOut)


Top
Profile Quote
8bit-Dude
Post subject: Re: Video cuts out when booting Coffin R52
Posted: Thu 26 Jul 2018 16:17
Offline
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 25 Jul 2018 15:32
 
I managed to write to the file screenmode.prefs, but screen is still blank after setting 640x480 24 bits. :-(


Top
Profile Quote
leof
Post subject: Re: Video cuts out when booting Coffin R52
Posted: Thu 26 Jul 2018 18:22
Offline
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri 15 Jun 2018 13:59
 
Could there be a problem in the Vampire? Ask here: http://www.apollo-core.com/knowledge.php


Top
Profile Quote
8bit-Dude
Post subject: Re: Video cuts out when booting Coffin R52
Posted: Fri 27 Jul 2018 02:29
Offline
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 25 Jul 2018 15:32
 
OK, will do!


Top
Profile Quote
Display: Sort by: Direction:
Post Reply   Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ]
Return to “Vampire 600 V2”
Jump to:
cron