[SOLVED] Vampire II A600 GOLD Core crashes.

Post Reply
salocinx
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 30 Dec 2016 16:01

[SOLVED] Vampire II A600 GOLD Core crashes.

Post by salocinx » Fri 30 Dec 2016 16:06

Hi - I received my V2 A600 yesterday. When running SysInfo and testing CPU speed, the A600 crashes with a classic red guru meditator message. I installed SILVER9 today, this one works fine with SysInfo's CPU speed test. Any ideas what's wrong? Do you have the same issue with GOLD core ? TIA

gregthecanuck
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon 28 Nov 2016 05:33

Re: Vampire II A600 GOLD Core crashes.

Post by gregthecanuck » Fri 30 Dec 2016 16:34

Standard Sysinfo has a bug with any CPU without an FPU. There is a patch on aminet at: util/moni/SysInfo40_noFPU.lha

Here is the blurb from the readme:

SysInfo 4.0 has a bad bug on 680x0 CPU without FPU (i.e. 68EC040, 68EC060,
68LC060). It still tries to trigger FPU and end with a crash. This patch will
fix it.

To apply it, just use spatch in SysInfo directory :
>spatch -oSysInfo4_noFPU -pSysInfo40_noFPU.pch SysInfo


salocinx
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 30 Dec 2016 16:01

Re: Vampire II A600 GOLD Core crashes.

Post by salocinx » Fri 30 Dec 2016 22:40

Thanks for your immediate help. It now works fine with the patch applied :-)
Strange that it did not crash with SILVER9 though.

gregthecanuck
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon 28 Nov 2016 05:33

Re: Vampire II A600 GOLD Core crashes.

Post by gregthecanuck » Sat 31 Dec 2016 05:33

Some of the FPU instructions were exposed in silver 9. Newer core revisions pulled the instructions out.

mufflon64
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri 6 Jan 2017 11:33

Re: Vampire II A600 GOLD Core crashes.

Post by mufflon64 » Fri 6 Jan 2017 11:37

Hello guys !

How do I patch sysinfo ?

I go to SysInfo folder and enter : spatch -oSysInfo4_noFPU -pSysInfo40_noFPU.pch SysInfo

It just says "spatch is not executable" and does nothing.

jarp
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue 3 Jan 2017 18:43

Re: Vampire II A600 GOLD Core crashes.

Post by jarp » Fri 6 Jan 2017 12:03

mufflon64 wrote:Hello guys !

How do I patch sysinfo ?

I go to SysInfo folder and enter : spatch -oSysInfo4_noFPU -pSysInfo40_noFPU.pch SysInfo

It just says "spatch is not executable" and does nothing.
Use spatcher:

http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/Spatcher1_0

-J

salocinx
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 30 Dec 2016 16:01

Re: Vampire II A600 GOLD Core crashes.

Post by salocinx » Fri 6 Jan 2017 12:17

I had the same problem, although the executable flag was set on the SysInfo file. IIRC, it finally worked with the GUI that comes with SPatcher1_0 from aminet.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TrashyMG and 1 guest