a fairly small question :)

Amigaboy
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 16:42

a fairly small question :)

Post by Amigaboy » Sat 26 Nov 2016 16:34

How does the work on implementing an FPU on the vampire going? Is there any progress?

Crom
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun 20 Nov 2016 21:16

Re: a fairly small question :)

Post by Crom » Sun 27 Nov 2016 04:26

The guys are working on the new gold core the FPU update will not be part of this release. It is my understanding the FPU core is in the current design, it just hasn't been activated. I don't know when it will be activated but the next release will have some great speed improvements and new and improved RIVA media player functionality.

User avatar
TuKo
Administrateur du site
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu 17 Nov 2016 23:29
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: a fairly small question :)

Post by TuKo » Sun 27 Nov 2016 10:44

TURTLE mode will also be in the party to improve WHDLoad and floppy games compatibility.
A600, V600 V2, A604n+Indi+RTC, CF 32Gb, WiFi
A500+, V500 V2+, Kipper 1MB ChipRAM, CF 32GB, Indivision ECS, ESP8266, Plipbox
A4000D, CS MK2 68060@66MHz 128Mb, Indi MK2cr, CF 16Gb, CV64 4Mb, FastATA MK-VI, Ariadne II

Marchie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue 22 Nov 2016 07:57

Re: a fairly small question :)

Post by Marchie » Sun 4 Dec 2016 23:39

As another 3D guy who got his start on the Amiga, I can't wait to see the performance when the FPU is enabled.

Exciting times. :D

darksun9210
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue 27 Dec 2016 23:35
Location: London, UK

Re: a fairly small question :)

Post by darksun9210 » Wed 4 Jan 2017 21:46

another small question, not really worth a thread to itself, but with a Vamp 500 fit with a minimegachip installed as well? have a rev 5 board

sorry, hope you don't mind me hijacking the FPU question thing :?:
First Vampire loaded machine
A600
Awaiting Vamps ;)
A500, A1200x3, A3000, A4000, CD32

User avatar
guibrush
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 14:12

Re: a fairly small question :)

Post by guibrush » Thu 5 Jan 2017 15:14

I don't know, I have an 500+, but as the mini megachip don't bother the physical installation of the vampire, I don't see why it would'n work. I have a Kipper 2Mb chip expansion and it's work well, so no reason for the megachip to fail in my opinion. Let's us know when you have tried it !
A600 V1.5, V600 V2, A604n, RTC, Indi ECS, 32Gb CF, PCMCIA Ethernet, HD floppy, TOM, HP Pavilion 23xi monitor
A500+V8A, V500+, Indi ECS, 32Gb CF, SD-net, SD floppy, Kipper 2Mb chip expansion, TOM, Eizo EV2450

Amigaboy
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 16:42

Re: a fairly small question :)

Post by Amigaboy » Sat 7 Jan 2017 16:14

I am interested will the A570 work with the vampire. It should have no problem with location. but will it work becouse of the speed of the amiga and the "speed" of the cdrom.

User avatar
guibrush
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 14:12

Re: a fairly small question :)

Post by guibrush » Sun 8 Jan 2017 12:36

the problem with the A570 is not the speed, but that it use his own ROM that overleap the original ROM in the 500. Therefore, as long we don't have an CDTV or an A570 specific ROM, this can't work correctly.
A600 V1.5, V600 V2, A604n, RTC, Indi ECS, 32Gb CF, PCMCIA Ethernet, HD floppy, TOM, HP Pavilion 23xi monitor
A500+V8A, V500+, Indi ECS, 32Gb CF, SD-net, SD floppy, Kipper 2Mb chip expansion, TOM, Eizo EV2450

chris2029
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 9 Jan 2017 12:34

Re: a fairly small question :)

Post by chris2029 » Mon 9 Jan 2017 12:43

darksun9210 wrote:another small question, not really worth a thread to itself, but with a Vamp 500 fit with a minimegachip installed as well? have a rev 5 board

sorry, hope you don't mind me hijacking the FPU question thing :?:

If you are referring to megachip with vampire You need two 64 pin dip sockets to raise the vamp above the megachip. It works fine but its a tight squeeze when the ide cable is plugged back in and the keyboard is down.

I bought this to give myself a tad of breathing space : http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/172378382829? ... EBIDX%3AIT

I un-soldered the jumper and soldered the jumper points together all fits nice now.

Dont think the top shielding will be going back on tho ;)


Hope this helps.

radfoo
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu 5 Jan 2017 22:09

Re: a fairly small question :)

Post by radfoo » Mon 9 Jan 2017 20:40

Amigaboy wrote:I am interested will the A570 work with the vampire. It should have no problem with location. but will it work becouse of the speed of the amiga and the "speed" of the cdrom.
Just tried it, nothing happens, I get a power light on the Amiga 500 and A570 but system does not boot, blank screen.

Tested the A570 on another Amiga 500 and it boots to the CD image so drive is still working (not used in years) though the mechanism itself sounds a bit sick.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests