Apollo Accelerators

Apollo Accelerators Discussion Forum
» » »
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 3 of 3  [ 30 posts ] Go to page « 1 2 3
Author Message
Marlon
Post subject: Re: Ethernet with Vampire V500 V2+ Posted: Tue 14 Feb 2017 16:50
Offline
User avatar
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 15:57
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website
Does this mean V500 v2+ has 2xSPI headers essentially? So hypotetically you could use the SD-slot for ethernet and the SPI header for USB?


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
guibrush
Post subject: Re: Ethernet with Vampire V500 V2+ Posted: Fri 17 Feb 2017 08:28
Offline
User avatar
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 14:12
Yes, that's the case. In facts, only the form factor of the plug change. But we have another idea for the second SPI header, stay tuned !

_________________

A600 V1.5, V600 V2, A604n, RTC, Indi ECS, 32Gb CF, PCMCIA Ethernet, HD floppy, TOM, HP Pavilion 23xi monitor
A500+V8A, V500+, Indi ECS, 32Gb CF, SD-net, SD floppy, Kipper 2Mb chip expansion, TOM, Eizo EV2450


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Annatar
Post subject: Re: Ethernet with Vampire V500 V2+ Posted: Sun 26 Feb 2017 18:55
Offline
User avatar
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun 26 Feb 2017 17:10
bax wrote:
Strange things do happen. I wonder what that sdnet.device actually means. Who in a sane state of mind would use an SD slot for networking?
[ img ]
So this depicts the Arduino EtherNet module, connected to the micro SDHC slot?

Assuming that is the case, which low level protocol is being used to send TCP/IP and UDP packets through the micro SDHC slot / cable?


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
bax
Post subject: Re: Ethernet with Vampire V500 V2+ Posted: Mon 27 Feb 2017 08:42
Offline
User avatar
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 13:46
Annatar wrote:
So this depicts the Arduino EtherNet module, connected to the micro SDHC slot?
Assuming that is the case, which low level protocol is being used to send TCP/IP and UDP packets through the micro SDHC slot / cable?
Actually, the Arduino-centric version of these modules is not recommended. The Micro SD slot runs with 3.3V power supply and signal levels, while the Arduino modules have a 5V VCC (and sometimes clamping diodes that might be harmful to the Vampire board). A plain 3.3V version is better in this regard as it doesn't require soldering on the ENC28J60 board itself.

The layer1 protocol is straightforward SPI at roughly 20 MHz. Some modules also accept slight overclocking (up to 23 MHz).

The payload at layer2 is IEEE802.2/802.3 Ethernet in conjunction with a SANA-II driver. This way, one can transparently use any networking stack with Ethernet support. The MAC address is auto-generated from the Vampire FPGA serial number.

_________________

A500 Rev8a1, V500 V2, ECS, 1.5 MB Chip, 32 GB CF
A500 Rev5, 1 MB Chip, 2 MB Fast, A590 + SCSI2SD
A4000, CS060MK-I 50 MHz, 112 MB Fast, AriadneII, Scandoubler, MelodyZ2, CV64
A500 Rev8b, Project Red a1k edition


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
darksun9210
Post subject: Re: Ethernet with Vampire V500 V2+ Posted: Wed 29 Mar 2017 13:13
Offline
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue 27 Dec 2016 23:35
Location: London, UK
i think it's exciting enough having a decent ethernet solution. just so long as it runs faster than the parallel port can only be a good thing.

have run a 68k socket clockport adapter + subway card + usb2ethernet adapter previously.
it wasn't the fastest, but for an A500. it's enough. :mrgreen:

_________________

Vampire loaded
A500 + A600
Awaiting Vamps ;)
A1200x3, A3000, A4000, CD32


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
diabl8xxx
Post subject: Re: Ethernet with Vampire V500 V2+ Posted: Fri 21 Apr 2017 12:02
Offline
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri 21 Apr 2017 11:57
Hello,

It's possibile to buy this adapter for ENC28J60?

or it's also possible built by myself?

Thanks


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Elko3000
Post subject: Re: Ethernet with Vampire V500 V2+ Posted: Tue 24 Oct 2017 18:47
Offline
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue 24 Oct 2017 18:43
Hi, can anyone give the pin assignement so we can build our own adpater cable. :?:

thanks Alex


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
bax
Post subject: Re: Ethernet with Vampire V500 V2+ Posted: Thu 26 Oct 2017 10:42
Offline
User avatar
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 13:46
Prerequisites for SDNet are a Vampire card (V500 or V600), along with the Gold2.5 release. In terms of additional hardware, a suitable Micro SD breakout, a 3.3V ENC28J60 module and some easy soldering are required.

Please be careful with the breakout. Many MicroSD models use a thick PCB that will quite likely destroy the SD slot. In my experience, the plug from cables sold as "TF to micro SD card Extension cable" on fleabay worked well. Reminder: The soldering is easy. Take the time saved on soldering to grind the edges of the breakout connector into a smooth feel.

More information, pin-outs, driver, test tool and associated sources (GPL) can be found in the following archive: http://www.apollo-accelerators.com/files/sdnet0.8.lha

Disclaimer: This is a DIY hardware project for experienced personnel only. The information is provided as-is, without warranty of any kind, expressed or implied, including, but not limited to, the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose.

_________________

A500 Rev8a1, V500 V2, ECS, 1.5 MB Chip, 32 GB CF
A500 Rev5, 1 MB Chip, 2 MB Fast, A590 + SCSI2SD
A4000, CS060MK-I 50 MHz, 112 MB Fast, AriadneII, Scandoubler, MelodyZ2, CV64
A500 Rev8b, Project Red a1k edition


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Elko3000
Post subject: Re: Ethernet with Vampire V500 V2+ Posted: Thu 2 Nov 2017 19:01
Offline
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue 24 Oct 2017 18:43
Hi, can anybody share the Gold 2.5 with me. I cant download this allthrough i registered my Vampire 500 v2 but i dont get access to this.


Thanks
Sascha


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
jjsaenz1969
Post subject: Re: Ethernet with Vampire V500 V2+ Posted: Thu 2 Nov 2017 22:31
Offline
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun 12 Mar 2017 15:21
Elko3000 wrote: *  Thu 2 Nov 2017 19:01
Hi, can anybody share the Gold 2.5 with me. I cant download this allthrough i registered my Vampire 500 v2 but i dont get access to this.


Thanks
Sascha
http://apollo-accelerators.com/files/GOLD2.5/


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Display: Sort by: Direction:
[Post Reply]  Page 3 of 3  [ 30 posts ] Return to “Vampire 500 V2(+)” | Go to page « 1 2 3

Jump to: 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


» The team | Delete all board cookies | All times are UTC+01:00

cron