Apollo Accelerators

Apollo Accelerators Discussion Forum
» » »
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ]
Author Message
Dasm333
Post subject: Help with vampire500v2 Posted: Thu 29 Jun 2017 14:41
Offline
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu 29 Jun 2017 14:34
Help........I recently purchased a used vampire500. All I get on my A500+ is a flashing power light on the amiga, then nothing. The A500+ works fine without the board. The power light on the vampire remains on and the act light flashes briefly when powers on, then goes out. I am hoping it's not a bad board. Any help would be greatly appreciated


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
TuKo
Post subject: Re: Help with vampire500v2 Posted: Fri 30 Jun 2017 19:22
Offline
Administrateur du site
User avatar
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu 17 Nov 2016 23:29
Location: Switzerland
Contact: YouTube
Hi,

It looks like a bad contact between board and your CPU socket.

No pins are folded ? Try to put some more force on the socket, it seems A500+ sockets need some more pressure.

_________________

A600, V600 V2, A604n+Indi+RTC, CF 32Gb, WiFi
A500+, V500 V2+, Kipper 1MB ChipRAM, CF 32GB, Indivision ECS, ESP8266, Plipbox
A4000D, CS MK2 68060@66MHz 128Mb, Indi MK2cr, CF 16Gb, CV64 4Mb, FastATA MK-VI, Ariadne II


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Dasm333
Post subject: Re: Help with vampire500v2 Posted: Sat 1 Jul 2017 00:10
Offline
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu 29 Jun 2017 14:34
Thanks, the pins are all ok from what I can see. I have put a little pressure on the board, no luck with either. :(


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
mark
Post subject: Re: Help with vampire500v2 Posted: Sun 2 Jul 2017 19:07
Offline
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 19 Jun 2017 15:48
Hi hope I can help you and others.

The 500 plus has a Capacitor in between fat Agnus socket and rom chip Positioned at "c816" which stops the vampire board locating fully down in the cpu slot.
My solution to the problem was to replace the capacitor with a smaller one that will do the same job.

After replacing the capacitor, the board was resting on the rom chip ,so I removed it ,I read some where
you do not need the rom chip so left it empty, fitted the vampire board and it worked Perfectly.

rev5 and rev 6 motherboards do not have this problem. no Capacitor at that Location.

plus you my be Able to use some Risers on the CPU socket ,but this may put the vampire card in contact with the key board must admit I do not know.

please have a look at the pics
hope this helps
mark

[ img ] [ img ]

[ img ] [ img ]

[ img ] [ img ]


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Dasm333
Post subject: Re: Help with vampire500v2 Posted: Wed 5 Jul 2017 02:49
Offline
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu 29 Jun 2017 14:34
Thank you for the help. I gave up on the A500 and installed the Vampire in my A2000. It works, almost. The machine boots to work bench 3.1 and does not recognise the gvp scsi card. I kinda expected that. Removed the scsi card, and booted from the gotek drive using the WB 3.1 install disk. It booted and showed the extra memory, however I could not get it to recognise the c.f. card. I did remove the kickstart rom but i find it odd that it booted to the normal wb 3.1 request screen.

Thanks again,

Doug


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
mark
Post subject: Re: Help with vampire500v2 Posted: Sat 8 Jul 2017 14:34
Offline
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 19 Jun 2017 15:48
Hi
have to admit not to now how the amiga A 2000 boot Priority works..
so the only thing I can suggest is to remove all boot drives "Disconnect them "
Attach CF card and interface to IDE connector on the vampire card , assuming you have one set up ,
and see if it boots .
sorry I can not help further.

with no boot Devices connected you You should see this boot screen." scart output"amiga rgb"

[ img ]

You can see the Apollo team logo under the amiga tick
so you know you are using Apollo boot rom .

hdmi out put will show this screen for a few seconds on boot.

[ img ]

All amiga Native screen resolutions are Displayed through amiga rgb port .
All other screen resolutions are Displayed through hdmi but not at the same time.
but I think this will change in the Future releases of the Apollo core

hope this will help
kind regards
mark


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Display: Sort by: Direction:
[Post Reply]  Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] Return to “Vampire 500 V2(+)”

Jump to: 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


» The team | Delete all board cookies | All times are UTC+02:00

cron