Apollo Accelerators

Apollo Accelerators Discussion Forum
» » »
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 2 of 3  [ 23 posts ] Go to page « 1 2 3 »
Author Message
SpeedD408
Post subject: Re: A2000, GVP SCSI and Vampire problem Posted: Sun 5 Nov 2017 00:52
Offline
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 8 Dec 2016 16:00
arekbr wrote: *  Thu 17 Aug 2017 17:58

I have good news. I do upgrade firmware of my Impact Series II A2000-HC+8 and voila.. I can start workbench from SCSI drive with Vampire in A2000! :)
What version of firmware did you use? I have 4.15 loaded and while AsimCDFS v3.7 install software will find the CDROM drive, when I install the CD the icon doesn't show up on the screen. I've tried 2 DVD drives and a CD drive with no luck.

Thanks


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Marko
Post subject: Re: A2000, GVP SCSI and Vampire problem Posted: Sun 5 Nov 2017 08:46
Offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 25 Oct 2017 06:28
I’m not sure why you guys try to get SCSI and the VA2000 working at all. It will slow down the operation of the vampire a lot.

The SCSI (esp. GVP w/o GURU ROM) is a lot slower than the Vampire IDE. (W/o GURU 2.2 MB/s, with GURU 3.2 MB/s, max bus speed 3.5MB/s)

Same is true for the VA2000 as it has to use Zorro 2 bus in an A2k. Only advantage I can see is the CX FlickerFixer and DeInterlacer...

For SCSI: AFAIK the Vampire is not compatible to all auto boot roms. Maybe older GVP ROMs are not supported. You should be able to use the GVP SCSI using the GVP bind drivers (http://babel.de/amiga.html) without the ROM at all, but you won’t have auto boot.

VA2000: I am having trouble with this card as well, it does not work with a GVP 68040 CPU card either. This are timing issues and I believe same will be true for the V500...


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
arekbr
Post subject: Re: A2000, GVP SCSI and Vampire problem Posted: Sun 5 Nov 2017 08:51
Offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon 10 Jul 2017 14:32
Yes, I use firmware form http://babel.de/amiga.html. 4.15

kind regards
Arek


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
arekbr
Post subject: Re: A2000, GVP SCSI and Vampire problem Posted: Sun 5 Nov 2017 08:53
Offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon 10 Jul 2017 14:32
Marko wrote: *  Sun 5 Nov 2017 08:46
I’m not sure why you guys try to get SCSI and the VA2000 working at all. It will slow down the operation of the vampire a lot.
:) Because I have scsi cdrom drive. I bought AmigaOS3.9, and I need to install it to CF card.

Kind regards
Arek


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
SpeedD408
Post subject: Re: A2000, GVP SCSI and Vampire problem Posted: Sun 5 Nov 2017 12:17
Offline
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 8 Dec 2016 16:00
Marko wrote: *  Sun 5 Nov 2017 08:46
I’m not sure why you guys try to get SCSI"
I have a SCSI DVD drive and a SCSI scanner. Will I use the scanner or for the matter the CD drive that often. No, but it is part of having a complete setup and that is what I am working on.

I do not have a GURU ROM but would like one. I don't care about the RAM on the GVP. I just want my SCSI CD drive to work and then I will try to get the scanner working.

Thanks.


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Marko
Post subject: Re: A2000, GVP SCSI and Vampire problem Posted: Sun 5 Nov 2017 15:43
Offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 25 Oct 2017 06:28
Alright, CD-ROM and SCSI scanners sounds like a argument. But those don’ need autoboot.

Theoretically they should work using the above mentioned bind drivers.
Did you try?


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Marchie
Post subject: Re: A2000, GVP SCSI and Vampire problem Posted: Wed 22 Nov 2017 22:23
Offline
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue 22 Nov 2016 07:57
Hi, is there a more substantial answer to this SCSI thing than 'try X firmware'?

I can't get the V500 to work with any SCSI devices, ZIP, CD-ROM, or internal SCSI2SD, with or without a CF card attached to the Vamp's IDE, have tried 2 different SCSI cards.

What is the generalised problem with SCSI?

And how do I solve it if I don't have an EPO ROM writer?


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Marko
Post subject: Re: A2000, GVP SCSI and Vampire problem Posted: Thu 23 Nov 2017 19:36
Offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed 25 Oct 2017 06:28
As stated above: AFAIK the vampire does not support the Autoboot feature of those SCSI controllers. (The ROM)
You can get the card running by using normal bind drivers if they are available for your card. But NOT for booting.

Hard disks via SCSI are times slower than CF/SD via IDE in case of the vampire in a A2000/500. So you should think about moving (imaging, copying) your SCSI disk to one of these media.


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
bax
Post subject: Re: A2000, GVP SCSI and Vampire problem Posted: Fri 24 Nov 2017 10:50
Offline
User avatar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 13:46
I think that some clarifications are in order here. The Vampire does _NOT_ disable AutoConfiguration and AutoBoot on Z-II SCSI controllers.

The respective firmware ROM on said controllers is relatively often the culprit. There have been also incompatibilities along the way when 68040/68060 cards came to market. Some controllers got updates, others did not. The underlying reason for failing SCSI controllers ranges from problems with memory in the 32 Bit range to cache coherency issues to timing issues (with faster CPUs) etc.

For some controllers, firmware updates are available, for others not.

I've got an A590 (A500 variant of C= 2091) with SCSI ZIP drive and 2MB RAM. Both are detected and correctly working.

I have to agree with several comments in this thread. Forget Z-II graphics cards and Z-II for primary storage. The SAGA framebuffer is 100 times faster than a Z-II graphics card. A good CF-Card on the V500 connector is 4 times faster than any Z-II solution.

_________________

A500 Rev8a1, V500 V2, ECS, 1.5 MB Chip, 32 GB CF
A500 Rev5, 1 MB Chip, 2 MB Fast, A590 + SCSI2SD
A4000, CS060MK-I 50 MHz, 112 MB Fast, AriadneII, Scandoubler, MelodyZ2, CV64
A500 Rev8b, Project Red a1k edition


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Marchie
Post subject: Re: A2000, GVP SCSI and Vampire problem Posted: Fri 24 Nov 2017 22:41
Offline
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue 22 Nov 2016 07:57
So is my only option to get SCSI ZIP & CD-ROM working to just keep trying SCSI cards until one works?


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Display: Sort by: Direction:
[Post Reply]  Page 2 of 3  [ 23 posts ] Return to “Vampire 500 V2(+)” | Go to page « 1 2 3 »

Jump to: 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


» The team | Delete all board cookies | All times are UTC+01:00

cron