Apollo Accelerators

Apollo Accelerators Discussion Forum

Boot vampire in 68000 / v.13 mode?

Post Reply   Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ]
Author Message
mhindsbo
Post subject: Boot vampire in 68000 / v.13 mode?
Posted: Sat 19 Aug 2017 16:48
Offline
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 19 Aug 2017 16:28
 
Would it be possible to boot the vampire with kickstart 1.3 and emulating 68000? That way you could both run the modern Amiga experience and go back to full compatibility with some of the original A500 games and demos.

There might be other ways of doing this, so apologies if it is a stupid question. I left the Amiga after my 500 and only recently with the Vampire making my way into the more modern experiences. My original A500 is one of the very early ones with OCS and it would be great to boot in that mode as well.


Top
Profile Quote
Sinphaltimus
Post subject: Re: Boot vampire in 68000 / v.13 mode?
Posted: Sun 20 Aug 2017 01:23
Offline
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue 11 Jul 2017 16:15
 
I don't think you'll be able to switch kickstarts but with Goldv3 - you'll be getting AGA. And from the little bit I've seen, it's pretty ECS/OCS friendly.


Top
Profile Quote
mhindsbo
Post subject: Re: Boot vampire in 68000 / v.13 mode?
Posted: Mon 21 Aug 2017 01:01
Offline
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 19 Aug 2017 16:28
 
Thanks ... have to wait for gold3 then and see how compatible it is :-) Certainly looking forward to getting AGA on my system.


Top
Profile Quote
bax
Post subject: Re: Boot vampire in 68000 / v.13 mode?
Posted: Mon 21 Aug 2017 10:41
User avatar
Offline
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat 19 Nov 2016 13:46
 
Gold 2.7 will bring the MapROM feature to the public.

See here for a demo:
https://youtu.be/0mp4G3ngl6k

_________________

A500 Rev8a1, V500 V2, ECS, 1.5 MB Chip, 32 GB CF
A500 Rev5, 1 MB Chip, 2 MB Fast, A590 + SCSI2SD
A4000, CS060MK-I 50 MHz, 112 MB Fast, AriadneII, Scandoubler, MelodyZ2, CV64
A500 Rev8b, Project Red a1k edition


Top
Profile Quote
Sinphaltimus
Post subject: Re: Boot vampire in 68000 / v.13 mode?
Posted: Mon 21 Aug 2017 12:42
Offline
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue 11 Jul 2017 16:15
 
Just watched that video yesterday - very excited - hope someone develops a nice software switcher for it to avoid memorizing the correct shell syntax.


Top
Profile Quote
mhindsbo
Post subject: Re: Boot vampire in 68000 / v.13 mode?
Posted: Tue 22 Aug 2017 21:50
Offline
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 19 Aug 2017 16:28
 
That is cool. Echo the comment on hoping for a simple tool / UI to easily switch


Top
Profile Quote
drwhy
Post subject: Re: Boot vampire in 68000 / v.13 mode?
Posted: Wed 17 Jan 2018 05:19
Offline
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu 3 Aug 2017 22:17
Location: Austria
Contact: Website
 
oh yes !

Kickin´ the Vampire down to ROM 1.3 or whatever ROM-Version you want,
would be awesome !

I´m waiting hard for core 2.7 !

greets

_________________

move.l $c0ffee,Screen


Top
Profile Quote
Display: Sort by: Direction:
Post Reply   Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ]
Return to “Vampire 500 V2(+)”
Jump to:
cron