Apollo Accelerators

Apollo Accelerators Discussion Forum

New to vampire with A2000 questions (newbie)

Post Reply   Page 1 of 1  [ 3 posts ]
Author Message
hawkeye
Post subject: New to vampire with A2000 questions (newbie)
Posted: Sat 5 May 2018 12:37
Offline
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat 5 May 2018 12:29
 
Hi,

Since some weeks I again own an A2000. Back in the days I owned an A2000 and want to relive the retro moments :) Also the reason I choose the A2000 and not an A500/600/1200/etc... I had the A2000 which has a special place in my heart.

Some weeks ago I had the opportunity to order the Vampire V2+ but I cancelled the order because I have many unanswered newbie questions and saw the V4 announcements.

The first thing that catch my eye is the network connection.

Now my questions:

I want to be able to play/run OCS games/demos/apps but on my 1084S monitor, no LCD/new monitor/HDMI...

- is it mandatory to connect the Vampire to HDMI and 1084? is it or will it be possible to connect only the 1084?
- I have now a KS 1.3/2.04 switch, I understood the Vampire runs it own KS, presumably 3.1?
- where to find/buy brackets to lead the connections/connectors to the back so it can 'neatly' be connected
- I have now an A2091 with SCSI2SD, what to do with this? Can it coexist or not necessary?

Hope the preorder of the V4 can soon begin.

Thanks,
HAWKEYE


Top
Profile Quote
Ludiks
Post subject: Re: New to vampire with A2000 questions (newbie)
Posted: Sun 13 May 2018 14:18
User avatar
Offline
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu 5 Apr 2018 08:35
 
Hi,
I have a A2000 also, for the same reasons as you. :roll:
Wanted a V2 but now I wait for a V4 to avoid troubles.

I think we are several A2000 lovers in this case.

Interesting post :)

_________________

†OverClocked Floppy-Disk†


Top
Profile Quote
Marchie
Post subject: Re: New to vampire with A2000 questions (newbie)
Posted: Thu 17 May 2018 18:41
Offline
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue 22 Nov 2016 07:57
 
I have a V2 in an A2000, to answer the OP questions:

The V2 + also has an expansion port that you can get an Ethernet adapter for.

You can run it entirely through the RGB on your Amiga to a 1084 if you want to (I do).

Yes, the Vamp has it's own ROM image on-board, don't know what version, but it looks like 3.1 to me.

You can buy brackets on Ebay for the CF card, HDMI, etc if you want to.

I have had issues getting SCSI to work - SCRAM2000 card failed and I tried a 2091 which also failed, I hear other have had success with the 2019 though, you may just need to latest ROM version.

Hope that helps you decide, V2+ is awesome, but don't want to talk you out of a V4 if you're patient and want to spend the extra money.


Top
Profile Quote
Display: Sort by: Direction:
Post Reply   Page 1 of 1  [ 3 posts ]
Return to “Upcoming products”
Jump to: