Apollo Accelerators

Apollo Accelerators Discussion Forum
» » »
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ]
Author Message
MoRetro
Post subject: A500V2 Expansion Port & ENC28J60 Modules Blues :-) Posted: Tue 1 May 2018 18:34
Offline
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun 15 Apr 2018 14:36
Yesterday I received my ENC28J60 modules after 5 weeks of waiting.
I ordered the 3.3V with a 10-pin headermodules as shown in the expansion port Wiki.
The modules I got are 5V, have a 12-pin header and the SI & INT signal seems missing. See picture:
[ img ] https://drive.google.com/open?id=1gBlfP ... 1loPpIc_jQ
I've contacted the eBay seller yesterday. But even if he send them today, I have to wait another 5 weeks. :)

Then I posted this in the Vampire Facebook group.
One helpful member Leigh 'Perc' Russ gave me some links to Arduino & RPI forums where they discussed this problem.

I have read the info on that forums.
It seems that:
LNT = INT
ST = SI
Q3 = 3.3V

The board also has a SCK and CLK pin
As I remembered from the SDNET readme one should use the SCK pin!

I've connected now my ENC module to these pins like the expansion port Wiki says.
I triple checked every connection on the ENC28J60 module and on the A500 V2+ expansion header.
Layout as from the Wiki:
Expansion Connector -- ENCJ2860 Module
8 (MISO)------------------ So
1 (MOSI)------------------ Si
3 (nCS1)------------------ CS
6 (CLK)------------------- SCK
5 (IRQ)------------------- INT
7 (GND)------------------ GND
2 (+3.3V------------------ VCC

[ img ] http://wiki.apollo-accelerators.com/lib ... ansionport
[ img ] http://wiki.apollo-accelerators.com/lib ... ansionport

And what happened?

It worked without as it should :)

I guess that the factory misspelled the characters. Just look good at ST & SI, Q3 & 3.3V and LNT & INT. For users not familiar with the Latin alphabet an error can easily be made. The mingled characters and numbers resemble one an other a bit :)

I hope this info helps other users with this ENC module. The info is also useable for SDNET :)

The Apollo Team should add this variation of the ENC module info to their Wiki. :)


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
zekstra
Post subject: Re: A500V2 Expansion Port & ENC28J60 Modules Blues :-) Posted: Fri 4 May 2018 22:56
Offline
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun 15 Apr 2018 00:27
:lol:
So, I always look carefully what I order.

I am not satisfied with speed of that solution, cann't get more than 60-65 KB/s. Verrry lame...
But better something than nothing.

Cheers!


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
MoRetro
Post subject: Re: A500V2 Expansion Port & ENC28J60 Modules Blues :-) Posted: Fri 4 May 2018 23:45
Offline
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun 15 Apr 2018 14:36
zekstra wrote: *  Fri 4 May 2018 22:56
:lol:
So, I always look carefully what I order.
Well Zeksta , I did order the correct 10 pin header module as advertised in the eBay listing, but they shipped the 12 pin header 5V module. But in end I got it working :D
zekstra wrote: *  Fri 4 May 2018 22:56
I am not satisfied with speed of that solution, cann't get more than 60-65 KB/s. Verrry lame...
But better something than nothing.

Cheers!
Weird mine reaches +500kB/s download and 230kB/s upload rate.

How did you setup your expansion Network?
What TCP/IP stack do you use?


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
zekstra
Post subject: Re: A500V2 Expansion Port & ENC28J60 Modules Blues :-) Posted: Sun 6 May 2018 00:56
Offline
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun 15 Apr 2018 00:27
could not make my registered amitcp 4 to work with coffin 51, so i bought roadshow 1.13, latest release.
Do not know should i somewhere setup SPI speed or what? It seems like that kind of issue.
Will try with WB3.1 or 3.9.


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
zekstra
Post subject: Re: A500V2 Expansion Port & ENC28J60 Modules Blues :-) Posted: Sun 6 May 2018 11:38
Offline
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun 15 Apr 2018 00:27
Well, I'm writting this post from my Vamped A500. :)
I achieved 330K over ethernet to my PC (SMB), but http seems to work ok now (much faster opens pages, do not know why), except direct download and ftp, still @60KB max..
I also played high quality MP3 over LAN!! Works great, no glitchis!
Have to investigate thoroughly.

Cheers!


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
MoRetro
Post subject: Re: A500V2 Expansion Port & ENC28J60 Modules Blues :-) Posted: Sun 6 May 2018 12:08
Offline
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun 15 Apr 2018 14:36
zekstra wrote: *  Sun 6 May 2018 00:56
could not make my registered amitcp 4 to work with coffin 51, so i bought roadshow 1.13, latest release.
Do not know should i somewhere setup SPI speed or what? It seems like that kind of issue.
I use MiamiDX but Roadshow is better and still maintained.

I use a v2expeth.config file in ENVARC:SANA2/ folder, the contents are the same as the sdnet.config file
'TIMER=7000 SPISPEED=1 MTU=1492 FULLDUPLEX'
I you are using Samba then I advise to download the latest smbfs 1.120 version. This speeds up the the upload and download rate.

You can read more in my Facebook post https://www.facebook.com/groups/1426384 ... 974386535/


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
MoRetro
Post subject: Re: A500V2 Expansion Port & ENC28J60 Modules Blues :-) Posted: Sun 6 May 2018 12:15
Offline
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun 15 Apr 2018 14:36
zekstra wrote: *  Sun 6 May 2018 11:38
except direct download and ftp, still @60KB max..
Had the same Problem, this is what Henryk Richter advised me:
Quote:
Mo Retro wrote: wrote:
These are high numbers for the 1.74. I have around 300kB/s download and around 70kB/s upload.
My upload rate stays low on the 1.102 and 1.116 version, around 75kB/s
I might have some insight to this upload performance issue. It's called Delayed ACK in TCP. Modern IP-Stacks send data all the time and expect that TCP segment acknowledgement might come late. On Amiga, most IP Stacks (notable exception: RoadShow) will wait for the actual ACK before sending data again.
This is a behaviour of the remote machine which must be circumvented there. Examples:

OSX (commandline): sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.delayed_ack=0

Linux (Samba smb.conf): socket options = TCP_NODELAY

Windows (not tested by me on recent versions, Registry):

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\Tcpip\Parameters\Interfaces

find your LAN interface there and add the following keys:
TcpAckFrequency=1 (DWORD32)
TCPNoDelay=1 (DWORD32)

Just try it out for your SMB machine. see first which OS you're running.

Cheers also :)


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
zekstra
Post subject: Re: A500V2 Expansion Port & ENC28J60 Modules Blues :-) Posted: Tue 22 May 2018 00:02
Offline
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun 15 Apr 2018 00:27
MoRetro, thanks!!
SMB transfer is about 380kb/s.
But still no desirable improvement with internet download. :( only 150-200kb/s
I'll check my router as my PC very often has problems with inet.


Top
[Profile] [Quote]
Display: Sort by: Direction:
[Post Reply]  Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] Return to “Vampire 500 V2(+)”

Jump to: 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


» The team | Delete all board cookies | All times are UTC+02:00

cron